My Inner Kim

From my recent interview in Locus magazine:

“Even though Kim is Korean-American, she grows up as an orphan, so she has no connection to that culture. She’s like all other Americans now — she refers to herself as a feral American. She’s had to do everything herself and educate herself. People are constantly asking her things about Asian culture and she says, ‘How the hell should I know? I grew up in Poughkeepsie.’ To a large part, she represents my own interior life…

“I usually do a lot of note taking and fiddling around, concerning my characters. Kim was unusual in that she walked into my head the way she was. I thought maybe I should change her and make her different, to avoid all the issues that come with writing outside your personal background. Okay, she’s no longer Korean-American. Nope, she came right back in that way. Or maybe I should change this or that about her. Everything would revert right back to the way she wanted to be. I think that’s because she’s really me, sort of an auto-psychological self-portrait. Not because of the details of who she is, but because of what she’s had to do, that whole feral thing, trying to figure out the world on her own…”

Available now, KIM OH 5: REAL DANGEROUS FUN

Real Dangerous Fun Cover 01